Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Creators by Tiffany Truitt Blog Tour + Review

Creators by Tiffany Truitt
(The Lost Souls #3)
Category: Young Adult
Genre: Science Fiction - Dystopia
Page Count: 400
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Publication Date: April 28, 2014
Book One: Chosen Ones
Book Two: Naturals

Heartbroken but more determined than ever after a tense showdown in the woods, sixteen-year-old Tess once again returns to the safety of her community of Isolationists. Bolstered by new alliances and desperate to protect those she loves, this time she knows she can return stronger and more powerful than ever to take back what is hers.

As she trains in combat and grows more confident, Tess receives beautiful letters penned by her forbidden love, the chosen one James, from his prison in Templeton. He is now serving as a bodyguard to the creators—the team of scientists who created artificial life in the first place. And what he has discovered about the true origin of the illness that halted natural life could change everything. Enemy will become ally and death will bring new hope in this stunning conclusion to Tiffany Truitt’s epic Lost Souls trilogy.

Review: I was THRILLED when I received the email about this blog tour. (Yeah, I know that I say that a lot, but I was SUPER excited about this one!). Sure, I was a little worried since this was the last book in the trilogy and I had yet to actually begin the series, so I was not sure I would be accepted to do the review for the tour. Not only was I accepted though, but I was given all three books to read and review, and I could not have been more thankful and excited! I love dystopians, and this one seemed like it was going to be very promising. I am very happy to say that it did not disappoint. Not. One. Bit. 

I really do not want to give too much away, as I feel like everyone should read the books for themselves and experience the pure amazement that is this trilogy. Therefore, I am going to be very careful about what I share here, but also give enough information for you lovely readers to realize that you need to go on Amazon or B&N and buy the ebooks right away so you can start reading them NOW. (Even though I have the ebooks, I have every intention of buying the books in paperback, too. I need them sitting on my shelf). 

The beginning of the series starts out quite sad. Tessa, our main character, has to watch her sister die. You see, the Naturals are not supposed to have children, and if they attempt to, it will kill them. Her sister fell in love, though, and made the mistake of becoming pregnant. After watching her sister die, Tessa must take the position as eldest daughter in their family. She is branded and sent to work at Templeton where the Chosen Ones are bred and live until someone decides to take them for whatever job they need doing. When she begins working there, she runs into James. While he is a Chosen One, it is obvious from the beginning that he is not just like the rest of them, something that both intrigues and frightens Tessa. Honestly, I loved the two of them from the very beginning. 

Naturally, in dystopians where the government (the council here) is trying to have full control, things do not go right or well. There are a lot of secrets and shady things going on, and Tess realizes that there are some really bad things going on, which leads into the second book where she manages to get out of Templeton, but then has to deal with a new group of people. Honestly, I read the whole series within about two days, so things did begin to run together, so I am having a little trouble remembering what specific thing happened in each book. It doesn't matter though, the series was amazing, and that's what is important! 

Truitt did a beautiful job creating the world that the story takes place in. Every single bit of it was believable, which is the most important thing to me when it comes to dystopian novels. Of course, I felt horrible for Tessa as she went through so many things, and wish I could have been there to tell her things were going to be okay (does anyone else ever talk to the characters?). So many amazing, crazy, complicated, upsetting things happened in this series, and I cannot even begin to explain them all. While the ending was heartbreaking (and secretly what I hoped would not happen), I applaud Truitt for doing what made sense for the story. I will always respect that over taking the easy way out, just because it is what your readers probably want to happen. Like I said, this series is amazing, and everyone should go out and purchase it right this moment! 

Rating: 5.0/5.0

Book One: Chosen Ones (The Lost Souls #1)

Life is bleak but uncomplicated for sixteen-year-old Tess, living in a not-too-distant future where the government, faced with humanity's extinction, created the Chosen Ones, artificial beings who are extraordinarily beautiful, unbelievably strong, and unabashedly deadly.

When Tess begins work at Templeton, a Chosen Ones training facility, she meets James, and the attraction is immediate in its intensity, overwhelming in its danger. But there is more to Templeton than Tess ever knew. Can she stand against her oppressors, even if it means giving up the only happiness in her life?

Book Two: Naturals (The Lost Souls #2) 

 Tess is finally safe from the reach of the Council, now that she is living in the Middlelands with the rebel Isolationists. With James having returned to Templeton, she easily falls back into her friendship with Henry, though her newfound knowledge of Robert’s chosen one status still stings. Even surrounded by people, Tess has never felt more alone. So she’s thrilled when James returns to the settlement, demanding to see Tess — until she finds out that it’s because her sister, Louisa, has been recruited into Tess’s old position at Templeton, and that the dangerously sadistic chosen one George has taken an interest in her.

Tiffany Truitt received her MA in literature from Old Dominion University. Her debut Chosen Ones, first in the Lost Souls trilogy, is a searing look at what it means to be other and how we define humanity, as well as a celebration of the dangerously wonderful feeling of falling in love. www.tiffanytruitt.wordpress.com

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Imagination Designs